Steven Go Herman

I was born in a non-rural town in Ohio in 1936. The first few years of my life were spent in northeastern Ohio and northwestern Pennsylvania, where I spent a good deal of time hunting, fishing, and generally investigating natural history. My course has changed very little in the years since that time.

My family migrated west toward the end of the Second World War. We settled in the San Francisco Bay Area and I attended grammar and high schools in San Francisco, Redwood City, and Hayward. In the mid-fifties I attended several junior and four year colleges in the Bay Area, ending up as a wildlife conservation major at the University of California, Berkeley in 1956.  In 1957 I terminated my formal studies and began working as a technician in the University's Department of Biological Control.  In 1959 I was drafted, and subsequently served 731 days in the army, for the most part in Southern California, in or near Los Angeles.

In 1961 I returned to Berkeley and my work, and shortly initiated a research project dealing with insectivorous birds and forest insects in the Sierra Nevada.  I continued on this and related projects, and attended some classes, until 1965, when I returned to school at the University of California, Davis. My B.S. in zoology was completed in 1966, and I began a doctoral program in zoology immediately. My doctoral research was completed in 1970. The subject was predator - prey relationships with emphasis on the western grebe, an aquatic, fish-eating bird.

During the summer of 1970 I did field work in Guatemala for the Center for the Biology of Natural Systems (Washington University, St. Louis). In the fall of that year I taught at Humboldt State College in northwestern California, then moved to the University of California, Santa Barbara, where I taught during the winter and spring quarters. I joined the Evergreen faculty in September, 1971. I taught in the Human Behavior Coordinated Studies Program during the 1971-72 academic year.

My research and teaching interests have been concerned mainly with animal ecology, pesticide-wildlife ecology, entomology, and animal behavior. I am particularly interested in field biology. I am a conservationist and a preservationist.

With regard to educational orientation, I am less interested in radical "alter- natives to traditional education" than I am in the reasonable and progressive overhauling and improvement of that traditional system.

I have been married since 1966 and have two daughters, one born in 1969, the other in 1972. My wife Nancy is a housewife. We live southwest of Tumwater and like it very much.